Gryphon: Red Queen to Gryphon Three (1974)

Front cover

Red Queen to Gryphon Three is the third studio album by the progressive folk band Gryphon, released in December 1974. The album was released on Transatlantic Records in the UK with a blue cover, while Bell Records released the album in Canada with the cover border in black. It's a concept album around the game of chess that is usually regarded as the band's magnum opus. The music, which frequently evokes a medieval mood, blends and alternates among baroque, renaissance, English folk and progressive rock music styles. Themes are presented, developed and recapitulated in the style of classical music.

Track listing:
1. Opening Move 9:42
2. Second Spasm 8:15
3. Lament 10:45
4. Checkmate 9:50

Opening Move


Graeme Taylor–guitars
Richard Harvey–keyboards, recorders, krumhorn
Philip Nestor–bass guitar
Brian Gulland–bassoon, krumhorns
Dave Oberlé–drums, percussion, tympani

Additional Personnel:
Ernest Hart: organ
Pete Redding: acoustic bass

Arranged by Gryphon
Produced by Gryphon & Dave Grinsted
Recorded & Mixed by Dave Grinsted at Chipping Norton Studios, August 1974
All songs published by Heathside Music

Second Spasm