Transatlantic: The making of The Whirlwind

The Whirlwind front cover

The Whirlwind is the third studio album by the progressive rock supergroup Transatlantic, released on 23 October 2009. It is available in three formats: a standard edition, a double disc special edition and a deluxe edition with the making-of DVD that follows. The main album, consists of a single 77-minute title-track, "The Whirlwind", divided in 12 sections. The bonus disc (which comes with the special and the deluxe editions) includes eight new studio recordings: four original Transatlantic tracks and four cover songs. At the end of the second disc, there is a hidden track by the band, played on ukulele with vocals.

Track listing:
1. The Whirlwind (77:54)
I. Overture / Whirlwind (9:54)
II. The Wind Blew Them All Away (6:10)
III. On The Prowl (6:03)
IV. A Man Can Feel (6:35)
V. Out Of The Night (4:22)
VI. Rose Colored Glasses (7:54)
VII. Evermore (4:10)
VIII. Set Us Free (5:03)
IX. Lay Down Your Life (5:11)
X. Pieces Of Heaven (2:17)
XI. Is It Really Happening? (8:11)
XII. Dancing With Eternal Glory / Whirlwind (Reprise) (12:04)" 

Special edition bonus disc:
1. Spinning (9:58)
2. Lenny Johnson (4:20)
3. For Such A Time (5:22)
4. Lending A Hand (8:43)
5. The Return of the Giant Hogweed (8:26)
6. A Salty Dog (4:59)
7. I Need You (4:39)
8. Soul Sacrifice (10:00)

The making of The Whirlwind


Neal Morse-keyboards, acoustic guitars, percussion, and vocals
Mike Portnoy-drums and vocals
Roine Stolt-electric guitars, vocals, percussion, additional mellotron, minimoog & soundscapes
Pete Trewavas-bass guitar, vocals, occasional VST synth & orchestration

Additional Musicians:
Chris Carmichael-real strings
Marc Papeghin-French horn

Arranged & Produced by Transatlantic
Engineered by Jerry Guidroz
Mixed by Richard Mouser
Mastered by Robert Vosigen at Capitol Mastering, Hollywood CA

The whirlwind: III. On the prowl