In their early years, Kaipa was one of Sweden's best 70's symphonic prog bands. The band was originally formed under the name Ura Kaipa -after a Swedish stone age chieftain- by Hans Lundin (vocals, keyboards) and Tomas Eriksson (bass), along with drummer Thomas Sjöberg who left the group the following year, though. His replacement on drums was Ingemar Bergman. Roine Stolt joined Kaipa as their guitarist in 1974 when he was 17. In 1975, shortly after they had cut the "Ura" from the name of the band, their self-titled debut album was released, with a cover painted by Stolt. Their albums contain a mostly instrumental music, drawing its influences from progressive rock (Camel, Yes, Genesis), classic music (J.S. Bach) or Swedish folklore. 


Allting har sin början

Förlorad I Istanbul

The first three albums, Kaipa (1975), Inget Nytt Under Solen (1976) and Solo (1978), are a beauty and probably most indicative of their style: dreamy symphonic rock with simple, yet very effective melodies and a great deal of emotion. They went through the usual line-up changes and recorded in total 5 studio albums before finally splitting up in December of 1982

Den skrattande grevinnan

Roine Stolt went on to form The Flower Kings in 1994. After a long break the band was reformed in the year 2000, by Hand Lundin and Roine Stolt, with new musicians: Patrik Lundström (lead vocals), Morgan Ågren (drums) and Jonas Reingold (bass). Additional vocals were provided by Aleena Gibson. In 2002 Inside Out Music released their new album called Notes From The Past. It was their 6th studio album since 1975 and the first one since 1982. All colours of the unique Kaipa-music from the 70's are present, but with a brand new collection of nice pieces. With the album Keyholder (2003), Hans Lundin and Roine Stolt perform some new music, yet echoing fragments of the glorious 70's, trying to bring the new Kaipa-sound to a higher level. The melodies linger on and will probably stay with you for decades to entertain. 

Folke's final decision

Stolt quit Kaipa after the album Mindrevolutions (2005) and he was replaced by guitarist Per Nilsson. Two years later Kaipa released Angling Feelings (2007)....

Where's the captain?

....followed by In The Wake Of Evolution (2010)....

The recording of In The Wake Of Evolution

Folkia's first decision

Their last album is Vittjar,  released in 2012.

An introduction to the album Vittjar

First distraction


Studio albums

Kaipa (1975)
Inget Nytt Under Solen (1976)
Solo (1978)
Händer (1980)
Nattdjurstid (1982)
Notes from the Past (2002)
Keyholder (2003)
Mindrevolutions (2005)
Angling Feelings (2007)
In the Wake of Evolution (2010)
Vittjar (2012)