Bubble Puppy (Demian)

Bubble Puppy is a Texan psychedelic rock band originally active from 1967 to 1971. The group has its genesis in 1966 in San Antonio, Texas by Rod Prince and Roy Cox, who had previously performed together in the rock group called the New Seeds. Looking to form a "top gun rock band" based on the concept of dual lead guitars, a staple of southern rock that was highly unusual on the psychedelic music scene, Prince and Cox recruited Todd Potter, an Austin, Texas gymnast, saxophone player and guitarist. With the addition of Danny Segovia and Clayton Pulley, the original line up of Bubble Puppy was complete. The name "Bubble Puppy" was taken from "Centrifugal Bumble-Puppy", a fictitious children's game in Aldous Huxley's Brave New World novel. Bubble Puppy's live debut was as the opening act for The Who in San Antonio in 1967. After a few line-up changes (drummer Clayton Pulley being replaced by Craig Root, and the departure of Danny Segovia), the final roster for Bubble Puppy settled at Rod Prince and Todd Potter on lead guitars, Roy Cox on bass guitar, and David "Fuzzy" Fore on drums. 

In the spring of 1967, Bubble Puppy moved to Austin, Texas and signed a recording contract with Houston-based International Artists, home to the 13th Floor Elevators and the Red Krayola. Bubble Puppy scored a Top-20 U.S. hit in 1969 with their single, "Hot Smoke & Sasafrass". The name was a misheard line lifted from an episode of "The Beverly Hillbillies". The single peaked at number 14 on the Billboard 100 and number 15 (RPM) in Canada. In addition, the song was at the top of many radio station playlists over the summer of 1969. The song was also covered internationally, by The Mooche in the UK. In 1969, Bubble Puppy released their first full-length album, A Gathering of Promises. However, despite Bubble Puppy's early success with the "Hot Smoke & Sasafrass" single, they experienced numerous conflicts with International Artists, and parted ways with the label in 1970.

Bubble Puppy-Hot Smoke & Sasafrass

Signing Nick St. Nicholas of Steppenwolf as a manager, Bubble Puppy moved to Los Angeles in 1970. Their name was changed to Demian (after Herman Hesse's 1919 novel at the suggestion of their manager's wife); this was to avoid contractual difficulties with their previous record company but also because the former name appeared to link them with Bubblegum music. The group signed to ABC-Dunhill Records and released one self-titled album in 1970, but its failure to perform on the charts led to financial difficulties with the label and, in 1972, the group split up.

Demian-Todd's Tune

Demian-Windy City

The members of Bubble Puppy continued to be active in the music industry after the band's demise. Potter stayed in California, working as a session player, before joining and touring with Rusty Weir's Fabulous Filler Brothers. Prince bounced around in different bands including Deadhorse Puppy, Manbeast, and The Prince Trio. With the addition of drummer Mark Evans and bassist George Rarey in 1979, Potter and Prince reunited in Sirius during the 1970s. Fore drummed with the Texas punk rock band, D-Day, co-writing their cult hit, "Too Young to Date". In 1984 the original Bubble Puppy lineup reunited for performances and recordings, and in 1986 they released their second LP, "Wheels Go Round", recorded live. Roy Cox founded The Blues Knights and released two CDs: "Before I Go" in 1999, and "Road To Freedom" in 2001. He formed the NYC Outlaws in September 2007 in New York City, along with Tony Saracene on guitar, Dan Curley on guitar, Cody Willard on guitar, Evan Hammer on bass, and Billy Brooks on drums. On March 19, 2011, three of the original members of Bubble Puppy reunited for a performance at The Austin Music Awards. The band also added Mark Miller (guitar) and Jimmy Umstattd (bass) to the line-up. Bubble Puppy's recent live performances include appearances at the Texas Legacy Music Awards in San Antonio, TX, on September 4, 2011, The Saxon Pub in Austin, TX on December 30, 2011, and Antone's, also in Austin, on Friday July 13, 2012. 

Demian-Are You With Me, Baby



Bubble Puppy:
"Hot Smoke & Sasafrass" / "Lonely" (1969)
"Beginning" / "If I Had a Reason" (1969)
"Days of Our Time" / "Thinkin' About Thinkin'" (1969)
"Hurry Sundown" / "What Do You See" (1970)

"Face the Crowd" / "Love People" (1971)

Studio albums

Bubble Puppy-A Gathering of Promises (1969):
1. Hot Smoke & Sasafrass
2. Todd's Tune
3. I've Got To Reach You
4. Lonely
5. A Gathering Of Promises
6. Hurry Sundown
7. Elizabeth
8. It's Safe To Say
9. Road To St. Stephens
10. Beginning

Demian-Demian (1970):
1. Face The Crowd
2. Windy City
3. Love People
4. Coming
5. Todd's Tune
6. No More Tenderness
7. Are You With Me Baby
8. Only A Loner

Live album

Bubble Puppy-Wheels Go Round (1986):
1. Tell It To Me Straight
2. Love Loves (To Rock And Roll)
3. Hurry Sundown
4. For My Love
5. Only A Loner
6. Hot Smokes And Sasafrass
7. Wheels Go Round
8. Because I Want To
9. No More Tenderness
10. My Life

Compilation album

Bubble Puppy-Hot Smoke (2000):
1. Hot Smoke And Sasafrass
2. Lonely
3. Grand Illusion
4. Methedrine Blues
5. Hard Livin'
6. Bound To Pain
7. The Puppy Jam-1984