Arzachel (Uriel)

The band Arzachel was a pseudonym of the band Uriel, a short-lived English psychedelic rock band during the 1960s, composed of Steve Hillage (guitar/vocals), Dave Stewart (organ), Clive Brooks (drums) and Mont Campbell (bass/vocals). Uriel were formed in London, in 1967. They initially played covers of Cream, Jimi Hendrix, John Mayall & the Bluesbreakers and The Nice. After Hillage left in 1968 to attend university, the remaining trio began playing original material written by Campbell and Stewart and  in early 1969 changed their name to Egg, the Canterbury scene progressive rock band. Hillage’s future band called Khan featured Stewart on keyboards. Shortly after Egg signed to Decca, a tiny company named Zackariya Enterprises gave the musicians an opportunity to record a psychedelic session for the burgeoning market. Since this was not "Egg material" (and besides, they were under contract now to Decca), Uriel re-united to produce their sole album in June 1969, a one-off psychedelic project under an assumed name Arzachel (named after a crater on the moon, itself named after a medieval Spanish astronomer). The musicians also used pseudonyms on the album:
Simon Sasparella (Steve Hillage) - lead guitar and vocals.
Njerogi Gategaka(Mont Campbell) – bass guitar and vocals.
Basil Dowling (Clive Brooks) – drums.
Sam Lee-Uff (Dave Stewart) – organ.

Garden of Earthly Delights

Arzachel (1969):
1. Garden of Earthly Delights
2. Azathoth
3. Queen St. Gang
4. Leg
5. Clean Innocent Fun
6. Metempsychosis

The record itself featured some of the most explosive psychedelia by an English group, but without any promotion, it quickly plunged into obscurity. It was years later before collectors started depleting their bank accounts to obtain what few copies of Arzachel were originally released. The album was re-released on 7 December 2007 as Arzachel Collectors Edition by Uriel. This official band release features a re-mastered version of the original album plus four unreleased Uriel studio demos, a spoken-word message from the past and a live snippet recorded in 1968. Steve Hillage plays on two of these bonus tracks. The CD also contains a 20-page booklet telling the group's history in the musicians' own words, along with period photos and artwork.

Queen St. Gang

Arzachel (Collectors Edition, 2007):
1. Garden Of Earthly Delights
2. Azathoth
3. Soul Thing
4. Leg
5. Clean Innocent Fun
6. Metempsychosis
Bonus Tracks
7. Introducing The Bass Guitarist
8. Egoman
9. Swooping Bill
10. The Salesman Song
11. Saturn, The Bringer Of Old Age
12. The Stumble